• Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Stunning 6 panel digipak designed by Tyrone Stoddart. Features exclusive liner notes and photos, free UK delivery

    Includes unlimited streaming of Burns via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day

      £10 GBP


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £7 GBP




Scores available from the merch page: seangibbs.bandcamp.com/merch

The debut album of the Birmingham Jazz Orchestra features compositions by director Sean Gibbs inspired by the poetry of Robert Burns. The music aims to capture the warmth, drama and humanity present in Burns' work, connecting with listeners as the poems do - through compelling narrative and exciting twists and turns.

Herald Scotland - ”Burns is an undertaking of astonishing maturity”

The Jazz Breakfast - “There are so many things to like here including that energy and good humour, that ebullience, that is the hallmark of the young Birmingham jazz scene; the way Sean has encouraged stretching performances not only from his fellow BC recent grads but also from more seasoned players like Lluis Mather; and the terrific music that Sean has written which changes within each piece to give bespoke settings for each solo and considerable satisfaction to all the section players.”

All About Jazz - “Burns is a worthy celebration of Burns’ work and a superb debut for Gibbs and the Birmingham Jazz Orchestra”

London Jazz News - “All killer, no filler, packed with vibrancy and passion, and bursting with slick soloists and a superbly well-drilled team of players”

Jazzwise - “A very welcome debut for both orchestra and their arranger of choice, the writing multi-layered and richly textured”


released August 11, 2015

Sean Gibbs: conductor

Elliot Drew: alto saxophone
Dan Searjeant: alto saxophone
John Fleming: tenor saxophone
Lluis Mather: tenor saxophone
Alicia Gardener-Trejo: baritone saxophone

Tom Syson: trumpet/flugelhorn
Hugh Pascall: trumpet/flugelhorn
Nick Dewhurst: trumpet/flugelhorn
Mike Adlington: trumpet/flugelhorn

Richard Foote: trombone
Tom Dunnett: trombone
David Sear: trombone
Andrew Clennell: bass trombone

Ben Lee: guitar
David Ferris: piano
Stuart Barker: bass
Jonathan Silk: drums

Josie Wilkin: flute (on ‘To A Mountain Daisy’ only)

All compositions by Sean Gibbs

Recorded on 8th and 9th April 2015 in the Adrian Boult Hall
Engineered and mixed by Luke Morrish-Thomas

Artwork by Tyrone Stoddart

© 2015 Sean Gibbs - All rights reserved




all rights reserved


Sean Gibbs Birmingham, UK

contact / help

Contact Sean Gibbs

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code